Skip to main content

Georgia Piedmont Technical College Learning Resource Center: Services and Policies

Reserves

  Reserves are a special collection of instructor-selected books that may be checked out from the circulation desk by students for three-hour, in-library use only. To borrow reserves you must:

  • Be a currently enrolled GPTC student
  • Not have any outstanding fines
  • Leave your currently validated student ID and driver's license/state-issued ID with the desk attendant while you are in possession of the book

Only one reserve may be in a student's possession at a time.Reserves may not be removed from the library.

Reference

 Students, faculty, and staff who would like one-on-one research help may visit one of our librarians at any time that the LRCs are open. We are available to answer quick reference questions or provide detailed research consultation.Students, staff, and faculty may drop by our Learning Commons for reference help or contact the library to make an appointment for a consultation with a  librarian.

Reference services are also available through our chat service located at http://libguides.gptc.edu/home/chat or through text messaging at 404-800-1811.

Galileo

 GPTC is a member of Galileo, Georgia’s state-of-the-art online library. Through Galileo, faculty, staff, and students can access millions of books, articles, photographs, and other resources at the click of a mouse. A password is required to access Galileo off campus. Please contact the LRC for the password. Galileo help is always available at the LRCs.  To access Galileo off-campus, go to http://galileo.usg.edu.

Other Databases

GPTC also subscribes to the Facts on File suite of databases as well as Salem Press ebooks and Credo Reference for the convenience of our students, staff, and faculty. Any of our librarians can help with access and use.

Physical (Book) Collections

The LRCs house a collection of over 12,000 books, periodicals and videos on many topics supporting the GPTC  curriculum. You may search or browse our catalog at http://gilfind.gptc.edu/. Faculty, staff, and students may check out up to five materials at a time. The checkout period for most materials is four weeks depending on type. Within four weeks of the end of the semester, checkout periods are shorter.  Overdue fines for most circulating books accrue at a rate of $0.36 per day; however, if materials are returned within 28 days of the due date, the fine will be waived. After a book is 28 days overdue, a fine of $10.00 will be charged and the book will be declared lost.The replacement cost of the book and a processing fee are also charged but will be forgiven if the book is returned in good condition. To appeal a fine, please complete the  Fine Appeal Form.

Facilities

           The LRC facilities are designed for the comfort and convenience of student and faculty researchers. Large study tables enable students and faculty to use their books, computer equipment and other study tools in a quiet, comfortable  environment. Upholstered chairs and sofas provide a comfortable place for recreational reading.  Two small rooms at the DeKalb campus are provided for students wishing to study or work on projects in groups of two or more. Both rooms are equipped with a small conference table, chairs, and a dry-erase board. One room also contains a lectern for students wishing to practice speeches. The rooms may be reserved up to one business day in advance and are only for student study groups.

A small library collection is located in the Learning Commons area of the South DeKalb Campus, which also contains computers and study tables for student use. 

Computers

Our Learning Commons area at the DeKalb campus contains twenty-four computer workstations and two printers for student and faculty convenience. At the Newton campus, there are nineteen computers available.  All computers are loaded with Microsoft Office 2013 and  a web browser. Each LRC also provides a photocopier for student use. Copies cost 10 cents per page for black and white and 25 cents for color.

The Learning Commons area at the South DeKalb campus contains eight computers for student use. 

Law Library

  The Newton Campus LRC includes a law library with a collection of ABA-approved sources on Georgia law. While the law library was established to serve GPTC’s Paralegal Studies program, all students, staff, and faculty are welcome to use its resources. The DeKalb campus also contains ABA-approved law materials.

Children’s Collection

 The LRCs are committed to facilitating learning at all levels, and contain a collection of books targeted toward a pre-K through 1st grade reading level. While this collection was established to support our Early Childhood Care and Education curriculum, all students, faculty and staff are welcome to check them out to read to  or with the children in their lives.Please note: Per GPTC policy, children under the age of 16 are not allowed in the LRC facilities.

The Children's Collection is located at the DeKalb, Newton, and South DeKalb Campuses.

Laptop Lending Program

The LRCs provide a limited number of laptop computers at the DeKalb and Newton campuses for students to check out and take home for a period of time. Each laptop is loaded with the same software as our Learning Commons computers. Students must provide their own internet access.  The Laptop Lending Program is for students only.

Intercampus Loan

 Do you need a book that is located at another GPTC campus? We can get it for you through our intercampus loan service.  Just make a request at the circulation desk or through Gil Find. Most materials arrive at your campus within three business days.

Book Return

For the convenience of students, faculty, and staff, the LRCs offer after-hours book returns located on the front of building A at the DeKalb campus and the upstairs lobby of building B at the Newton campus. The book return is emptied and books checked in every day that the LRC at the campus is open.

Quiet

 Our library users value the quiet, peaceful learning environment that we have designed for them. Please keep your voice to a whisper when visiting the LRCs.

Cell Phones

In order to maintain quiet and protect the privacy of library users, please silence your cell phones when entering the LRC and refrain from placing or answering calls while in the LRC.

Food and Drink

To maintain the condition of our furnishings and facilities, food and drink are not allowed in the LRCs. Please finish consuming them before you enter.

Children on Campus

Per GPTC policy, children under the age of 16 are not allowed in the  LRCs.

Copyright

 It is the policy of the Learning Resource Centers of Georgia Piedmont Technical College to maintain compliance with the Copyright Law of the United States (Title 17, U.S. Code; see “Applicable Legislation”), and encourage students, faculty, staff, and administrators to make lawful use of copyrighted works. The Learning Resource Centers of Georgia Piedmont Technical College recognize the exclusive rights of copyright holders, as well as exceptions to those rights and the doctrine of “fair use” as set forth in copyright legislation. In accordance with the above policy, we hold that students, faculty, staff, and administration are personally liable for willful infringement of copyright laws. Individuals may be held personally accountable for any misuse of copyrighted material.

For more information about how to remain in compliance with our copyright policy, contact Dr. Wendy S. Wilmoth, Director of Learning Resources, at extension 1197.

Collection Development Policy

Materials shall be acquired in accordance with the following priorities, ranked in descending order of importance:

1. Materials to support the current teaching programs of the college;

2. General reference works and circulating titles in major fields of knowledge that support the academic mission of the college;

3. Materials to support the professional and academic development of the faculty, and to assist administrative and school personnel in the effective performance of their duties;

4. Appropriate varieties of recreational library materials.

All materials purchased with funds allocated to the LRC become LRC property, and are available for use at all college campuses.

It is the responsibility of the librarians and LRC staff to ensure that the collection as a whole is developed objectively, consistently, and thoroughly. Faculty members are encouraged to recommend the acquisition of materials in their subject fields. Students, staff, and administration may also submit recommendations for purchase.

Evaluation Criteria

The ten following guidelines should be used to evaluate the intrinsic merits of both print and non-print selections:

1.            Curriculum Support

2.            Subject matter

3.            Purpose, scope, and audience

4.            Difficulty

5.            Authority, honesty, and credibility of author and publisher

6.            Comparison

7.            Timeliness

8.            Format

9.            Price

10.          Demand

Special Types of Materials

Periodicals - Periodicals are selected and purchased in an effort to keep the collection up-to-date with current thinking in various fields; to provide material not available in books; to supplement electronic research and book collections; and to serve as selection aids and professional reading. Selection is made on the basis of demonstrated needs of students, faculty, and staff, balanced with available online databases.

Newspapers - The LRC will subscribe to representative paper copies of major local newspapers and selected national newspapers, in addition to access to additional titles through the Internet.

Gifts – Direct gfts to the LRC will not be accepted per GPTC policy, except in rare circumstances. Anyone wishing to make a monetary gift to the LRC may do so through the GPTC Foundation.

Textbooks - Because of the repetition of information frequently included and because they are often quickly outdated, books designated as course textbooks are not usually added to the collection unless their usefulness goes beyond that of the typical textbook.

Duplicates - The LRC purchases duplicate copies in cases of demonstrated need, such as when the number of students in a class or concentrated use of material demands multiple copies, or when required as part of a satellite campus collection.  However, under ordinary circumstances, the LRC does not buy duplicate copies of the same title.

Content - No materials shall be excluded from the collection because of the race or nationality of the authors, or the political, moral, or religious views expressed therein. Selections will not be made on the basis of anticipated approval or disapproval but solely on the merits of the work in relation to the building of the collection.

Withdrawal of Materials

The removal of materials of limited usefulness is essential to maintaining the quality of the collection. The same care, thought, and judgment is used in this process as in the original selection. Weeding (withdrawal) of materials is essential to collection development.

Material may be discarded from the collection when:

  1. The material is outdated or where more recent editions have superseded earlier editions or its content made obsolete by newer publications in the field.
  2. Changes in the curriculum have revised the focus of the collection.
  3. There are duplicate copies of books or other materials no longer receiving heavy use.
  4. The condition of the item is no longer acceptable: obvious wear and tear, missing pages or parts, mutilated covers, crumbling paper, broken tape, etc.  Deteriorating materials will be considered for preservation or replacement when appropriate, due to high use or subject matter.

Periodicals shall be discarded for the following reasons:

  1. Back issues of print periodicals when the title has value only for the current year or other limited time;
  2. Periodicals in poor physical condition when there are no plans to replace the title:

When lack of space and database or GALILEO accessibility preclude the necessity to house back issues of most titles, preference will be given a few selected periodicals of proven use.

Group Study Rooms

General Purpose

  1. The GPTC Learning Resource Center recognizes that students need comfortable and quiet spaces to study in groups and is pleased to provide group study rooms for that purpose.
  2. The GPTC Learning Resource Center is committed to providing equitable access to group study rooms for all GPTC students.
  3. Group Study Rooms in the GPTC LRC are for GPTC school-related purposes only.
  4. While students wishing to study in groups are welcome to use the rooms, GPTC administrators and officially recognized student organizations take priority.

Reservations

  1. Students may reserve a room no more than 48 hours in advance.
  2. Student reservations may be cancelled by LRC staff at any time for any reason.
  3. To use a room, the booking student must present his or her GPTC student ID at the desk and give the desk attendant the names of the group members and the name of the course for which the group is studying.
  4. Reservations are for no more than two hours. A group cannot make back-to-back reservations. Two hours must elapse between a group’s reservations. If, at the end of a group’s allotted time, there are no reservations for the room, the group may remain until another student group requests the room, in which case the group will be given ten minutes to vacate the room. UNDER NO CIRCUMSTANCES will a second member of the same group be allowed to reserve the room for the same group after the reservation has ended to extend the group’s time.  A group may make no more than two reservations per day.
  5. LRC staff may enter the rooms at any time for any reason.
  6. Student groups will only be allowed to enter rooms when at least two members of the group are present.
  7. The small Group Study Room has a minimum capacity of two people and a maximum capacity of four people. The large Group Study Room has a minimum capacity of two people and a maximum capacity of eight people. The maximum capacity shall not be exceeded. Groups that exceed the maximum capacity of the rooms will be asked to meet elsewhere on campus.
  8. Reservations will be cancelled if at least two group members are not present ten minutes after the reservation time begins.

Student Conduct in Rooms

  1. Rooms are for GPTC-related study only and may be used for no other purpose.
  2. The rooms are equipped with sufficient furnishings to accommodate the maximum number of students. Additional furnishings are not to be placed in the rooms.
  3. Furnishings are not to be removed from the rooms.
  4. If at any point during a group’s reserved time, the occupancy of the room falls below two GPTC students, the reservation will be forfeited. If the room is completely vacated, all personal belongings will be removed by LRC staff and placed on a table in the public area.
  5. Food and drink are not allowed in the study rooms. Students should finish consuming food and drink before entering the Library.
  6. Students must work quietly and courteously while in the group study rooms. Noisy groups will be required to leave and forfeit their reservation.
  7. Nothing is to be posted inside or outside the rooms. The windows are not to be covered.
  8. Upon leaving the rooms students are to clean up after themselves and leave each room as they found it. Groups who leave a mess may be prohibited from using the rooms in the future.
  9. Students engaging in lewd or disrespectful conduct will be asked to leave and prohibited from using the rooms in the future.

495 North Indian Creek Drive | Clarkston, GA 30021 | 404-297-9522
A Unit of the Technical College System of Georgia

As set forth in its student catalog, Georgia Piedmont Technical College does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, creed, national or ethnic origin, sex, religion, disability, age, political affiliation or belief, genetic information, veteran status, or citizenship status (except in those special circumstances permitted or mandated by law).  Contact Lisa Peters, the ADA Coordinator, at 404/297-9522, ext. 1154, ADA504Coordinator@gptc.edu or at the main DeKalb campus, 495 N. Indian Creek Drive, Clarkston, GA 30021 Room A-170; or Dr. Debra Gordon, the Title IX Coordinator, at 404/297-9522, ext. 1176, TitleIXCoordinator@gptc.edu or at the main DeKalb campus, 495 N. Indian Creek Drive, Clarkston, GA 30021 Room A-103 for assistance.  For more information about our graduation rates and other important program information, please visit our website at https://www.gptc.edu/gainfulemployment