Regional Transportation: Web Resources and Standards-Setting Organizations

• Department of Transportation (DOT)

As a cabinet-level executive department of the United States government, DOT develops and coordinates policies that will provide an efficient and economical national transportation system, with due regard for need, the environment, and the national defense. This site includes grant information.

• Federal Transit Administration

The Federal Transit Administration (FTA)is specifically dedicated to public transit.  It provides financial and technical assistance to local public transit systems, including buses, subways, light rail, commuter rail, trolleys and ferries. FTA also oversees safety measures and helps develop next-generation technology research. 

• DOE Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy (EERE)

This site is a gateway to hundreds of Web sites and thousands of online documents on energy efficiency and renewable energy.​

• Federal Aviation Administration (FAA)

This site includes sections such as Data & Statistics, Regulations & Policies, and Education & Research.

• Federal Highway Administration (FHWA)

FHWA is a major agency of the U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT). While State, local, and tribal governments own most of the Nation’s highways, FHWA provide financial and technical support to them for constructing, improving, and preserving America’s highway system. The Electronic Reading Room covers Electronic Centralized Agreement Library (E-CAL); Intelligent Transportation Systems; Legislation and Regulations and so on.

• Federal Railroad Administration (FRA)

FRA is one of ten agencies within the U.S. Department of Transportation concerned with intermodal transportation.

• John A. Volpe National Transportation Systems Center

DOT's research center including information freight logistics, safety management systems, and advanced vehicle and information network systems.

• National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA)

This site includes information on highway traffic safety, vehicles and equipment, and research programs.

• Transportation Research Board (TRB) (See also TRB research programs below.)

The mission of the Transportation Research Board is to provide leadership in transportation innovation and progress through research and information exchange, conducted within a setting that is objective, interdisciplinary, and multi-modal.

• National Cooperative Highway Research Program Sponsored by the member departments of the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO) in cooperation with the Federal Highway Administration, the National Cooperative Highway Research Program was created in 1962 as a means to accelerate research on acute problems that affect highway planning, design, construction, operation, and maintenance nationwide.

• National Cooperative Freight Research Program The NCFRP carries out applied research on problems facing the freight industry that are not being adequately addressed by existing research programs. Sponsored by the Research and Innovative Technology Administration of the U.S. Department of Transportation, NCFRP will cover a range of issues to improve the efficiency, reliability, safety, and security of the nation's freight transportation system.

• Commercial Truck and Bus Safety Synthesis Program   Ended 2002, The CTBSS, supported projects that summarized existing practices in a specific technical area of commercial truck and bus safety. Its archives are still available for public use.

• Strategic Highway Research Program 2 Congress authorized the second Strategic Highway Research Program (SHRP 2) in 2005 to investigate the underlying causes of highway crashes and congestion in a short-term program of focused research.

State Government Resources

• Georgia Department of Transportation (GDOT)

The Georgia Department of Transportation plans, constructs, maintains and improves the state's road and bridges; provides planning and financial support for other modes of transportation such as mass transit and airports.

• State of Georgia Governor's Office of Planning & Budget

Includes Governor's report of budget from FY 2005 to current.

• State Transportation Web Sites

This page includes links to the state transportation agencies for all 50 states.

Metropolitan Atlanta Transit Authority (MARTA)

Information about the MARTA trains and buses including stops and schedules.

 Academic Research Centers dealing with transportation issues:

• Institute of Transportation Studies (UC Berkeley)
• Northwestern University Transportation Center
• Texas Transportation Institute