ALHS 1060 - Diet and Nutrition: Web Resources

• American Institute for Cancer Research

  The American Institute for Cancer Research supports research into the role of diet and nutrition in the prevention and treatment of cancer.

• BioMed Central

  This site contains scholarly research journals in biology and medicine. Some periodicals require a subscription or payment; those journals labeled "open access" are accessible free of charge. Each title includes a description of its subject matter.

• Consumer Lab

  This privately held company is not affiliated with manufacturers of health and nutrition products. It provides independent test results and information to help consumers and healthcare professionals evaluate health, wellness, and nutrition products.

• Eat Right

  The nutritional website of the American Dietetic Association.

• Eating Seasonally and Locally

  This guide is designed to help you access fresh fruits and vegetables in your community. With insights from Alice Ammerman, DrPH, professor in the Gillings School’s Department of Nutrition, we offer guidance on using produce to make quick, healthy meals, all on a smaller budget.

• Food and Nutrition Information Center

  The National Agricultural Library's Food and Nutrition Information Center site contains over 1800 links to current and reliable nutrition information.

• Healthy Eating Learning Center

  HealthLine provides a broad range of medical topics on the Internet for the general public to better understand their medical issues.

• International Food Information Council Foundation

  The International Food Information Council Foundation, a non-profit organization whose mission is to communication reliable information about food and nutrition, provides information about many food questions.

• Interpreting a Nutrition Label 

This Baylor University webpage contains excellent information on how to read an interpret nutrition labels.

• Medline Plus

  "MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free." About Page

• National Institute for Diabetes, Digestive, and Kidney Disease

  This site is the National Institute for Diabetes, Digestive, & Kidney Diseases' nutrition and weight control informational source.

• Nutrition

  This website is a portal to nutrition information across the agencies of the Federal Government.

• Nutrition Action Health Letter

  The nutritional website of the Center for Science in the Public Interest features the topics from its newsletter.

• Organic Farming Research Foundation

  OFRF is a non-profit organization founded in 1990 with the goal of advancing organic agriculture through scientific research. As a leading champion of organic farmers across the U.S., OFRF works to foster the improvement and widespread adoption of organic farming systems by cultivating organic research, education, and federal policies that bring more farmers and acreage into organic production. Through these efforts, OFRF is creating a more resilient and sustainable agricultural system that values healthy environments and healthy people. (About page)

• US Food and Drug Administration

  The Food and Drug Administration's website is a good source for information on dietary supplements

• USDA Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion

  The United States Department of Agriculture's Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion provides healthy eating guidelines.

• Weight Loss Basics

  "Your weight is a balancing act, and calories are part of that equation. Fad diets may promise you that counting carbs or eating a mountain of grapefruit will make the pounds drop off. But when it comes to weight loss, it's calories that count." Home page