What is Galileo?
GALILEO stands for GeorgiA LIbrary LEarning Online.
GALILEO is an online library portal which contains a collection of information databases. The majority of the information within the databases comes from previously published printed sources such as professional journals, magazines, newspapers, etc.
From the Find it! box on the right, select the Galileo sign-in tab, then click the Galileo link to access the Galileo search box to begin your article or journal search.
Using Galileo discover or the specialized nursing databases with any of these search terms: practical nursing, nursing, medical surgical nursing, pediatric nursing, nursing diagnosis or nursing care plans, will provide thousands of hits.
Note that after you retrieve the initial set of "hits" from your search, the Refine Results column on the left side of the screen contains several methods of further refining what you're looking for in order to reduce the number of articles to a more relevant and manageable result list.
Health Source: Nursing / Academic Edition
Provides over 500 scholarly full-text journals focusing on nursing, allied health fields, and many medical disciplines. Patient education sheets from the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide are also included.
Nursing and Allied Health Database
Provides users with reliable health care information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more. This database is designed to meet the needs of researchers at health care facilities as well as nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions.
Offers users vital clinical, biomedical, and health journals, including many indexed in MEDLINE. Clinical researchers can access high-impact titles including Lancet, New England Journal of Medicine, Nature titles and more.
Healthcare Administration Database
Designed to meet the needs of researchers studying the field of health administration. This high-demand healthcare management content provides the most reliable and relevant information on a wide range of topics.
Medline Plus (Natl Library of Medicine/NIH)
Brings together authoritative, consumer-focused information from The National Library of Medicine (NLM), the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations. MedlinePlus includes extensive information about drugs and supplements, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, videos, interactive patient tutorials, and the latest health news.
Offers trusted, concise and correct discussions of diagnosis and therapy.
Access to the Nursing Video Collection.
PrepStep for Community Colleges
Test prep for nursing school entrance exams and licensing exams in the Career Preparation section.
495 North Indian Creek Drive | Clarkston, GA 30021 | 404-297-9522
A Unit of the Technical College System of Georgia
As set forth in its student catalog, Georgia Piedmont Technical College does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, creed, national or ethnic origin, sex, religion, disability, age, political affiliation or belief, genetic information, veteran status, or citizenship status (except in those special circumstances permitted or mandated by law). Contact Lisa Peters, the ADA Coordinator, at 404/297-9522, ext. 1154, ADA504Coordinator@gptc.edu or at the main DeKalb campus, 495 N. Indian Creek Drive, Clarkston, GA 30021 Room A-170; or Dr. Debra Gordon, the Title IX Coordinator, at 404/297-9522, ext. 1176, TitleIXCoordinator@gptc.edu or at the main DeKalb campus, 495 N. Indian Creek Drive, Clarkston, GA 30021 Room A-103 for assistance. For more information about our graduation rates and other important program information, please visit our website at https://www.gptc.edu/gainfulemployment