Skip to main content

Green Technologies: Print and Database Resources

This guide is designed to support the curriculum and information needs of students enrolled in the Green Technologies program of study and includes resources available through Galileo and vetted Web resources specific to the study of environment preservat

Find Books

Searching for Books

Related Search Terms

Primo is the library’s online catalog that can be searched by title or keywords to find items that you can borrow. To give you an example:entering any of the search terms from this list in the Primo box above will deliver a list of items that have information about how we can live without creating so much waste and polluting our environment. These search terms  can also be used to research the many facets of green technologies in Galileo or the web.

Carbon footprint

Ecology

Environmental design

Green Technology

Permaculture

Recycling

Renewable energy, resources

Sustainability (development, design, living, etc)

Waste management

 

Books You Can Borrow

Galileo (Trade Publications, Academic Journals, Magazines, Industry Reports, and Product Evaluations.)

Galileo logo

      

Using Discover Galileo you can research almost any topic you can think of. But you’ll get better results if you use only the important words of the topic your researching. For example: "What percentage of people who get married before they are 20 years old are still married five years later?" Use two or three words for your search, like statistics teen marriages. If you need help doing this, ask one of the librarians in the LRC. That’s (just) one of the things we do real well.

Using a specific database, in this case GreenFile  (Ebsco), and the using the search terms “sustainable development with full text option checked, will retrieve thousands of articles from a wide range of publication types such as scholarly journals, magazines, trade publications, industry reports and news reports.

Now, use the same database; add the search term "United States" (in quotes so that the database will "recognize" that these two separate words need to be treated as one concept). See what sustainable development AND “United States” retrieves, and compare results.

Using a different database, Environment Complete, plug in the same query, sustainable design AND "United States" with full text option checked, and compare the retrieved resources with those from GreenFile. Then try the same search with  Galileo discover.

Note that after you retrieve the initial set of "hits" from your search, which might include literally thousands of titles,  the smaller column on the left side of the screen contains several methods of further refining want you're looking for in terms of

  • Full text (not just a summary)
  • Date of publication (if using only current sources is important)
  • Type of publication (check the box next to magazines and compare those results to ones you get when you put a check in the scholarly journals box.)

List of Galileo Databases Specific to Green and Environmental Technologies

This resource indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. The database contains nearly 300,000 records, full text for a few selected titles and searchable cited references for more than 200 titles. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

This specialized collection offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine and freshwater science, geography, pollution and waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.

Sustainability Journals and Publications Available Through Galileo

 


495 North Indian Creek Drive | Clarkston, GA 30021 | 404-297-9522
A Unit of the Technical College System of Georgia

As set forth in its student catalog, Georgia Piedmont Technical College does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, creed, national or ethnic origin, sex, religion, disability, age, political affiliation or belief, genetic information, veteran status, or citizenship status (except in those special circumstances permitted or mandated by law).  Contact Lisa Peters, the ADA Coordinator, at 404/297-9522, ext. 1154, ADA504Coordinator@gptc.edu or at the main DeKalb campus, 495 N. Indian Creek Drive, Clarkston, GA 30021 Room A-170; or Dr. Debra Gordon, the Title IX Coordinator, at 404/297-9522, ext. 1176, TitleIXCoordinator@gptc.edu or at the main DeKalb campus, 495 N. Indian Creek Drive, Clarkston, GA 30021 Room A-103 for assistance.  For more information about our graduation rates and other important program information, please visit our website at https://www.gptc.edu/gainfulemployment