Early Childhood Care and Education: Websites

Below are websites that contain resources useful to your work in Early Childhood Care and Education.

• Helping Your Preschool Child Booklet
  (School Readiness)
  Includes activities for children from infancy through age 5. Published by the U.S. Department of Education.
• Preschool Education
  Games, lesson plan ideas, printables, songs, and more.
• Preschool Practice Guides from The Center for Early Literacy Learning
  Literary Learning Experiences, Letters & Spelling, Reading & Storytelling, Drawing & Writing, Rhymes & Sound Awareness, Talking & Listening, and Signing.

• Sharin' with Sharron

Movement, play, & physical activity ideas for children

American Academy of Pediatrics
Provides up-to-the-minute guidance on fitness, sports, oral health, emotional wellness, & nutrition. It includes interactive content on developmental milestones & an A-to-Z list of more than 300 health topics.

Data Resource Center for Child and Adolescent Health
Learn about the National Survey of Children’s Health and the National Survey of Children with Special Health Care Needs
Browse national and state findings on hundreds of child health indicators

Download and print snapshot profiles on key topical areas for your state

Request a dataset and conduct in-depth data analyses on your own

Learn to use data more effectively
Discover how other state and family leaders use these findings
Get expert help by e-mailing us your questions – plus get links to other data sets and resources for improving children’s health and healthcare

Harvard University Research's Center on the Developing Child

Children's Healthcare of Atlanta's Pediatric Research News

Playground Safety Research
Reports on playground-related injuries.

• Annenberg Lerner's Language Arts Links
  Multimedia resources that help teachers increase their expertise in their fields & assist them in improving their teaching methods. Many programs are also intended for students in the classroom & viewers at home.

• Frank Potter's Science Gem
• A search engine for students, parents, teachers, scientists, engineers, & mathematicians. More than 14,000 science resources sorted by category, subcategory, & grade level.
• SAGE Links: General Science
  Provides educators & students with links to lesson planning & learning resources in the sciences. Click on the links for each branch of science on the left. 

• SAGE Links: Mathematics
  Provides educators & students with links to lesson planning & learning resources in mathematics. Click on Mathematics in list on the left.

• Annenberg Lerner's Art Education Links
  Multimedia resources that help teachers increase their expertise in their fields & assist them in improving their teaching methods. Many programs are also intended for students in the classroom & viewers at home.
• SAGE Links: Art
  Provides educators & students with links to lesson planning & learning resources in he arts. Select Arts from the list on the left.

• Annenberg Lerner's Social Studies & History Links
  Multimedia resources that help teachers increase their expertise in their fields & assist them in improving their teaching methods. Many programs are also intended for students in the classroom & viewers at home.
• Best History Websites
  Created by EdTechTeacher Inc, is an award-winning portal that contains annotated links to over 1200 history web sites as well as links to hundreds of quality K-12 history lesson plans, history teacher guides, history activities, history games, history quizzes, & more.
• History Net
  Contains daily features, photo galleries & over 5,000 articles originally published in our various magazines.
• National Archives' History Resources

Activities, resources, lesson plans, professional development, news & events, and more.

• SAGE Links: History
  Provides educators & students with links to lesson planning & learning resources in history.Click on the History link in the column on the left.