Recording Arts: Finding articles in Galileo

What is Galileo?

GALILEO stands for GeorgiA LIbrary LEarning Online.

GALILEO is an online library portal which contains a collection of information databases. The majority of the information within the databases comes from previously published printed sources such as professional journals, magazines, newspapers, etc.

Using Galileo discover or the specialized Recording Arts databases with any of these search terms:  music trade,  music industry, audio engineering, sound recordings--production and direction, music acoustics, Loud speakers, microphones and sound studios  will provide thousands of hits.

Note that after you retrieve the initial set of "hits" from your search, the Refine Results column on the left side of the screen contains several methods of further refining what you're looking for in order to reduce the number of articles to a more relevant and manageable result list. 

• Full text (not just a summary)
• Date of publication (if using only current sources is important)
• Type of publication (check the boxes next to magazines and trade publications)

Arts & Humanities Database

Includes articles on the music and recording industries, music production, audio engineering recording techniques and similar topics

Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database

Includes articles on audio engineering, music production, recording techniques and acoustics

Science Database

Includes articles on recording techniques, music production,  audio and sound engineering