Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Health Information Management Technology Program: Select Galileo Resources for HTM Students

Provides a listing of resources both print and digital that support the HIMT program students in evaluating, controlling, and maintaining the information contained in all types of health records.

Copy/paste any one of the following search terms to fine tune your Galileo search:

  • Health Information Management
  • Medical records management
  • Medical Informatics, Medical Terminology
  • Medical Coding
  • Electronic Health Records
  • Health Informatics

 Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) 

Offers a variety of options for researching current health issues including, up-to-date information on current diseases and illnesses, vaccine information, general health information, safety, and wellness. Information is available not only for consumers, but for health care professionals as well. Access to statistical data and CDC publications is available.

The eSkeletons Project 

Provides quality, digitized images and animations of human and primate skeletons for the study of comparative anatomy. Students can view regions of skeletons from any orientation as well as muscle and joint information. Browser plugins may be required for optimal viewing.

Healthcare Administration Database

Zeros in on the needs of researchers studying the field of health administration. This high-demand healthcare management content provides the most reliable and relevant information on a wide range of topics.

ProQuest Consumer Health Database 

Covers an enormous range of subjects of value in the public library context; from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry. It includes important general medical journals such as The Lancet and The New England Journal of Medicine as well as a strong selection of consumer and news magazines.

ProQuest Health and Medical Complete

Combines the clinical research titles available in ProQuest Medical Library™ with hundreds of additional consumer and health administration titles. ProQuest Health and Medical Complete provides in-depth coverage from over 1,500 publications with almost 1,300 available in full text and of these, over 900 include MEDLINE® indexing.

In addition, the database includes all charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to medical research

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

Provides over 500 scholarly full-text journals focusing on nursing, allied health fields, and many medical disciplines. Patient education sheets from the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide are also included.

MEDLINE

Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.

Merck Manual Professional Edition 

Offers trusted, concise and correct discussions of diagnosis and therapy. Content is updated monthly to keep current with changes in medical care.

Salem Health Online 

Provides access to Magill's Medical Guide and Salem Health: Cancer. These online publications include illustrations and sidebars, indexes, appendixes and other back matter. Cross-references in the form of "See Also" boxes will link directly to appropriate articles. Key terms, used in the body of articles, will link to a complete "Glossary." "Further Information" citations are extensive and authoritative. Article citation information is included with every article.

The Lancet  

Founded in 1823 by Thomas Wakley, an English surgeon who named it after the surgical instrument called a lancet (scalpel),  is the oldest, peer-reviewed general medical journal  best-known for its high quality general medical journals.

H&HN: Hospitals & Health

Provides strategic, in-depth analysis of  key issues affecting health care reform, aimed at a wide range of health care executives and others involved in providing health care.

Health Information Management Journal  

Promotes the discipline of health information management through the provision of a forum for presentation of original research, short communications, reviews & commentaries.

Health Management Technology  

Since 1980, HMT-Health Management Technology has been written for C-level executives, IT directors, and clinical managers in hospitals, clinics, and payor organizations. 

Healthcare Informatics  

Presents research on the application of computer science principles, information science principles, information technology, and communication technology to healthcare and everyday wellness, highlighting novel technical contributions in computing-oriented healthcare informatics.

Informatics in Primary Care

Promotes excellent and professionalism in health informatics and improving public awareness and confidence that informatics can enhance health.

International Journal of Healthcare Information Systems and Informatics

Is considered the prime source for both academic researchers and practitioners to advance the knowledge and practice in the interdisciplinary areas of healthcare information technology and management research. IJHISI addresses the innovative concepts and critical issues in the emerging field of health information systems and informatics.

Journal of AHIMA  

Is the official publication of the American Health Information Management Association. It delivers best practices in health information management and keeps readers current on emerging issues that affect the accuracy, timeliness, privacy, and security of patient health information.

Modern Healthcare  

Reports on important healthcare events and trends, as they happen, through our weekly print magazine, websites, e-newsletters, mobile products and events.

Perspectives in Health Information Management

Is a scholarly, peer-reviewed research journal whose mission is to advance health information management practice and to encourage interdisciplinary collaboration between HIM professionals and others in disciplines supporting the advancement of the management of health information. 


495 North Indian Creek Drive | Clarkston, GA 30021 | 404-297-9522
A Unit of the Technical College System of Georgia

As set forth in its student catalog, Georgia Piedmont Technical College does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, creed, national or ethnic origin, sex, religion, disability, age, political affiliation or belief, genetic information, veteran status, or citizenship status (except in those special circumstances permitted or mandated by law).  Contact Lisa Peters, the ADA Coordinator, at 404/297-9522, ext. 1154, ADA504Coordinator@gptc.edu or at the main DeKalb campus, 495 N. Indian Creek Drive, Clarkston, GA 30021 Room A-170; or Dr. Debra Gordon, the Title IX Coordinator, at 404/297-9522, ext. 1176, TitleIXCoordinator@gptc.edu or at the main DeKalb campus, 495 N. Indian Creek Drive, Clarkston, GA 30021 Room A-103 for assistance.  For more information about our graduation rates and other important program information, please visit our website at https://www.gptc.edu/gainfulemployment